Picky Kid Pix

I'm 12 Now and I'm Still Pretty Hard to Please.

Top 10: Best Books for 3rd Graders by Me (a 3rd Grade girl who is very picky) March 3, 2011

I’m putting Harry Potter last only because I haven’t finished the whole book. I’m putting Penderwicks first because it’s the best book in the whole world because it’s so funny. Matilda is in 3 on my list because it’s great but I like Penderwicks and Because of Winn Dixie a little bit better. What is your favorite book? Please leave a comment.

10. Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

Very good for 2nd grade and up. The first book is not scary at all. Once you get to the fourth book, it gets scarier.

9. Cricket in Times Square by George Selden

This was the book that I picked for my book club. My friends loved it. We decorated cricket cages and my mom bought the feeder crickets from the pet store. My crickets got released the next day in my garden but my friend’s cricket lived for a week. Do not buy the crickets ahead of time and get extra because they do not live very long (a day or so). I think it is for grades 3rd through 5th.

8. George’s Marvelous Medicine by Roald Dahl

This book, in my opinion, is the funniest book of all Roald Dahl’s books. I think it’s so funny because he has to make medicines over and over and over again. For grades 3rd through 4th.

7. Gooseberry Park by Cynthia Rylant

I read this book because it was a read aloud by my teacher who is very picky about books like me so I was interested in it and I liked it so much that I read it twice and I never read a book twice because if I do read a book twice, I start to get bored with it.

6. The B.F.G. by Roald Dahl

I like this book a lot. I read this one because, again, my friends recommended it to me and I love Roald Dahl so that’s why I read it. I recommend 3rd grade to 6th grade to read it.

5. Clementine series by Sara Pennypacker

It’s so funny. Once you read, you keep cracking up. Once I was reading at school and I was laughing too much so I got in trouble. I read all four of the books and I recommend for 2nd grade through 5th grade.

4. All-of-a-Kind-Family series by Sydney Taylor

I have read four of the six books and I liked them all. I am planning to read the rest but the 2nd through 6th books are only available at the library which really stinks.

3. Matilda by Roald Dahl

I love Matilda because my friend recommended it and once I started reading Roald Dahl, it was the only books I read for half of 3rd grade.

2. Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

This is one of my favorite books because I love dogs and it’s all about a dog and it’s a very good book. Grades 2nd to 5th.

1. The Penderwicks series by Jeanne Birdsall

The best book I’ve ever read for 3rd grade and up. I just finished the second book and I thought it as good, maybe a little better, as the first. I am going to start the third book tonight and it will be for sale in May. You can pre-order the book at Amazon if you want to get it as soon as it is out.

To examine any book more closely at Amazon, please click on image of book.

 

13 Responses to “Top 10: Best Books for 3rd Graders by Me (a 3rd Grade girl who is very picky)”

  1. [...] book descriptions. If you want her opinion on why she likes these books, please read her post at Picky Kid Pix. (She’d be delighted with some traffic and she doesn’t mince words!).I might add that [...]

  2. Thank you for this fantastic list. I am a third grade teacher in Tallinn, Estonia and I am always looking for good books to share with my students.
    Thanks for sharing your expertise,
    Erin

  3. Diane Says:

    Thank you for your suggestions! I am a mother of a soon to be 3rd grader and we are always looking for new books to read over the summer.

    Diane

  4. my favorit book would be the first penderwicks book!

  5. Hye-won Ryu Says:

    I read the Harry Potter books, all of them, when I was in second grade!
    I loved them.
    I am still young to read harder books, but I actually like them better.
    Do you?

    • Hi Hye-won,
      When I was in second and third grade, I liked to read harder books and I also liked them better but now when I’m older I read all the good books so it’s harder to find good books. I hope you liked my post.

      From,
      PickyKidPix

  6. Ewolf121 Says:

    Hi,
    I’m in eighth grade and I remember reading all of these books I definitely think the the Harry Potter series is great(although I think I read them in second grade…)

    • Hello,
      I only ended up reading 2 of the Harry Potter books. I also think they are great. I am not really into fantasy I personally enjoy realistic fiction.

      From,
      The Picky Kid

  7. Adrienne Ambrose Says:

    Hi,
    First of all, I love the title of your book list. I am a very picky 3rd Grade teacher, so I think your recommendations are perfect. I teach in Ormond Beach, Florida, and I am downloading The Penderwicks as I type this. I love the Gooney Bird Greene books by Lois Lowery as well as the Percy Jackson series. Have you tried any of the Roland Smith books? He is one of my favorite authors.

    Adrienne

    • Hi Adrienne,
      Thank you so much! You sound like a great teacher! I loved The Pendewicks series but I haven’t read The Gooney Bird Green series though I have heard about it. I haven’t read Roland Smith books but I just looked at his website and I think my younger brother would like his picture books. I don’t like Percy Jackson books or action adventure books in general so I’m not sure if his chapter books would be right for me. Thank you for your suggestions and for visiting my blog!

  8. esivy Says:

    All of a Kind Family were one of my top favorites growing up! Sadly, my daughters so far haven’t found them as interesting. But – the Penderwicks is my youngest daughter’s all time favorite too!

    Say hello to your mom for me. I see her around the web but I found your list doing a web search on best books for girls. It’s a small internet world! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers