Picky Kid Pix

I'm 14 Now and I'm Still Pretty Hard to Please.

4th Grade Books Recommended by a Fourth Grader September 4, 2011

I was assigned a summer reading project for going into 4th grade and I had to read five books and write about them. These were the books I chose. My favorite book out of all of them is Mr. Popper’s Penguins and I recommend them for kids in fourth grade but also third grade and fifth grade might like them too.

Frindle by Andrew Clements

I liked this book because it was about a boy that was really young and he got famous because he just made up this word, “frindle,” instead of pen.

The Tail of Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler

I liked this book because it was about a girl who didn’t even know she was a mermaid but found out during her first swimming lesson.

How To Eat Fried Worms by Thomas Rockwell

This book started off as a bet and a boy named Billy had to eat fifteen worms in fifteen days and a boy named Alan had to give him $50 (which was a lot during the olden days) if he succeeded but Alan thought Billy couldn’t do it but found out that he could so Alan had to trick Billy into not eating them.

Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater

This book was my favorite out of all of them. It was about Mr. Popper, a house painter, who sent Admiral Drake a letter and got one penguin. That penguin got sick so a zoo gave him another penguin that was girl. So the penguins had babies and helped Mr. Popper with his life.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin

This book was really good because it had a lot of little stories that combined into one big story.

To view any book more closely at Amazon, please click on image of book.

 

4 Responses to “4th Grade Books Recommended by a Fourth Grader”

  1. Barb Says:

    I am always looking for great books for my classroom! I haven’t read The Tail of Emily Windsnap or Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, so I will definitely check them out! Thanks for the reviews!!!!

  2. Hi Picky Kid,
    I’m glad you got to chose the five books you needed to read over the summer. I think you picked five great ones. I’ve read Mr. Popper’s Penguins, Frindle, and How to Eat Fried Worms, but the other two were new titles to me. I’m glad you wrote about them. I’ll pass this blog onto my 4th grade students and maybe some of them will read them because of your recommendation. They have blogs that I started for them. Please feel free to read them and maybe leave a comment or two. Your comment won’t appear until I approve it.
    Ms. Naugle
    4th Grade Teacher
    New Orleans, LA


Leave a Reply

