Picky Kid Pix

I'm 15 Now and I'm Still Pretty Hard to Please.

6th Grade Chapter Books from a 6th Grade Girl September 6, 2014

In 6th grade, I didn’t have a lot of time to read because I was playing a lot of soccer. The only time I read was when I had to so these are the only books I read and I didn’t finish all of them.

Catch Rider by Jennifer H. Lyne

Catch Rider was about a girl who loves to ride horses but she was very poor and it was hard for her to competitively ride horses. I thought this book was very well written and I enjoyed reading it.

The Center of Everything by Linda Urban

The Center of Everything started out slow but then it became more interesting as it went on.

My Almost Epic Summer by Adele Griffin

This was a really strange book. It was a little inappropriate. It was also a really short book that I read during the summer.

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Appleton

I didn’t want to read The One and Only Ivan at first because I thought it was a little kids’ book but once I started reading it, I really liked it.

The Wrap-Up List by Steven Arntson

I usually judge a book by the cover and the cover of this book is really bad. I didn’t want to read it but then my mom forced me to read it and I really liked it.

The Green Glass Sea by Ellen Klages

This book also started out slow but then something very sad happened and it becomes very interesting. It’s about this girl’s dad who is a scientist and she has to move to his secret location to fight against the war. While she’s there, she meets another girl who she becomes friends with, sort of.

White Sands Red Menace by Ellen Klages

This is the sequel to The Green Glass Sea and the beginning was very interesting but then I thought it got a little boring because I was reading The Giver at the same time and I thought The Giver was much more interesting.

The Misfits by James Howe

The Misfits I had to read at school and our book group was allowed to choose a book from a selection of books and we already read a couple of the books on the list so we chose The Misfits and if I didn’t read this for school, I don’t think I would have finished it because it was not my favorite book.

Clementine and the Spring Trip by Sara Pennypacker

I read all the Clementine books I could find when I was in third grade and when I saw that the author came out with a new Clementine book, I had to read it even though it’s kind of easy for me. While I was reading it, I had to read 10 books in 10 weeks which was very difficult because I don’t read a lot so it was a good book for me to read because it was so short. I really like the book but I think it’s better for third graders.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

I think The Giver was one of the best books I have ever read. I read this book in two days and that is very unusual for me but this book was so good. I saw the new movie trailer and they totally messed up the story in the movie but I still want to see it.  The Giver is about a community that’s perfect and when a child turns twelve, they are assigned a job that is perfect for them. And The Receiver receives all memories that are nice and painful and the main character in this book is chosen to be the new receiver and he finds out that his community is not perfect.

Anything by Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

I also had to read this book in school but it was one of the first books that our book group chose. I thought the idea of the book was very interesting but I don’t think the book was very interesting and I thought the book with that idea could have been better. It’s about an autistic kid who loves writing and has an online friend who he shares his stories with and ends up meeting her at a writing convention for the online writing page and he is afraid to meet her because he is autistic.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

I didn’t end up finishing Wintergirls because when I was reading it, we started book groups but I would really like to finish that book because it was very interesting. It’s about this girl who is anorexic and the difficulties of her life and how she won’t admit that she has a problem.

 To buy any book at Amazon, please click on image of book. My mom earns a tiny bit of $ which I do not get any part of but it doesn’t cost you anything.

6th Grade Chapter Books from a 6th Grade Girl

 

3 Responses to “6th Grade Chapter Books from a 6th Grade Girl”

  1. mmarrone51 Says:

    Hi! You should check out my book…it’s for 9-12 year olds…here’s a review from a 10-year-old, avid reading boy:http://atticusmonthly.wordpress.com/ Here are some reviews on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006XO0XKE I hope you check it out. If you like the reviews, I can send you a copy for free. I would need an address, though. You should ask your parents where I should send it. Maybe to their work. You don’t want to give out your home address. Happy reading! My email address is: mmarrone51@hotmail.com.

  2. Chantal Daley Says:

    Thank you for this list. My daughter is a sixth grader also so I will show her your list. She wants to see The Giver movie so maybe she can read the book first based on your recommendation. She is reading Are You There God it’s me Margaret by Judy Blume. That is a book I read back when I was a kid. She likes it. You might want to check it out!


Leave a Reply

